I SAW DEAN LIVE! KOKO London 2017

So on Saturday I had the absolute pleasure of witnessing the one and only Dean preform live on stage at the KOKO in London. As well as the man himself, he was accompanied by the ever so talented supporting acts SAAY, Miso and 2XXX.

Now, I’m not a Londoner so I committed myself to two hours on a coach as well as a quick whizz through the Underground (which was absolutely terrifying, I can’t navigate that place for shit, especially by myself.) But I made it! Aside from seeing Dean, I also got to meet my best friend of nearly a year. We met through a Kpop amino app and Saturday was the first time we ever got to see each other in person so it was pretty strange and special.

FullSizeRender (6)

When we arrived at KOKO…I mean the cue man. It was insane. The amount of people who turned up for Dean was honestly breath taking. Even the locals and tourists were stopping to take pictures and ask what the hell was going on. Never in my life have I been in the presence of so many Kpop fans. Not only that, but the few people I had the pleasure of meeting and talking to were all so so lovely.

rsz_img_0863

The atmosphere was highly welcoming and you could literally sense the excitement radiating from the hoards of people. We actually met one girl who stuck around with us for the reminder of the show and if it weren’t for her, I wouldn’t have noticed Dean standing up on the balcony waving at us all. Shout-out to you girl for being a life-saver, (although I nearly had a heart attack.) If you thought Dean was attractive in pictures, think again, cause he only gets better in real life.

An absolute beauty.

Although the tickets said to be there at 13:00pm, we weren’t let in until around 14:00pm which caused me to panic a little cause I had a coach to catch and there was no way I was going to miss Dean. Luckily, it all worked out for the best and I didn’t miss a second. I did purchase the general tickets so by the time we got inside I was relatively towards the back but I could still hear and see Dean so I wasn’t complaining, AT ALL. He truly knows how to engage with his audience, there wasn’t a single moment where it felt as if language barriers were separating us. He would call out into the crowd so we could call back and they had the lights go up multiple times so they could see the entire audience. The bass in the venue was incredible so by the time Bermuda Triangle dropped for the encore I nearly fell to the floor and wept myself into a coma. Dean knew exactly what to say to admiring fans (cough, ‘I’ll f**k you if you let me baby’, cough) and he knew exactly how to throw an incredible gigg.

Everyone were having the time of their lives. I was blessed to see so many smiling faces in one room, all sharing a similar music taste and genuinely enjoying each others company. I mean, except the parents that were dragged along they may have hated every second; but hey, at least your child will love you forever. Shout-out to all the parents who were there.

I got to hear all my favorite songs by Dean while simultaneously being in the presence of my best friend who is usually 231 miles away from me. One of the best days of my life would be an understatement. I only have one regret, and that is not meeting more fans. Hopefully I’ll see ya guys at the next one 😉

If you ever get the chance to attend a Dean concert, or even to be in an event full of Kpop fans, just go. It feels just like family.

 

2 thoughts on “I SAW DEAN LIVE! KOKO London 2017

Leave a Reply

